How to use non-binary forms of address on your website

Learn

On June 21, 2022, the Higher Regional Court (Oberlandesgericht) in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, ruled in a case against Deutsche Bahn that mandating "Mr." or "Ms." discriminates against non-binary people. This form of discrimination is not permissible according to Germany's AGG (Equal Treatment Act).

Find out here what this groundbreaking ruling means for online stores, websites, newsletters and other digital product and services.

Get the essential information from the recording of our July 2022 webinar

You'd rather watch a video to get the details? No problem. Sign up here and we'll send you a link to the recording of our webinar.

What is the ruling about?

A non-binary trans person filed a lawsuit because Deutsche Bahn requires customers to choose binary form of address, i.e. "Mr." or "Ms.", when purchasing tickets online. The Higher Regional Court (Oberlandesgericht) in Frankfurt am Main has now ruled on appeal that this discriminates against non-binary persons under Germany's Equal Treatment Act (Allgemeine Gleichhandlungsgesetzt). Effective January 1, 2023, Deutsche Bahn must stop from requiring non-binary people using the company's services to choose between the titles "Mr." or "Ms."

Effect immediately, the railway must refrain from addressing the non-binary plaintiff incorrectly (with a gendered form of address) when issuing tickets, in communication from customer service, and in advertising. This also applies to any personal data Deutsche Bahn has stored.

Furthermore, Deutsche Bahn must pay the plaintiff compensation in the amount of € 1,000.

What this means for your website or online store

In principle, there is now clarity that non-binary people may not be discriminated against and excluded from use by the mandatory selection of the salutations "Mr." or "Ms.". Accordingly, it is now easier to claim this right.

If you collect and use salutations, e.g.

- in the checkout in your store
- in the newsletter registration
- in the profile creation or in the settings
- in the issuing of tickets or cards
- in the application process
- in the communication with your customers or employees
- in the personnel software or in the payroll

you should now check this and make sure that this is done and People of all genders included be.

How do I keep track of titles and forms of address legally and inclusively?

The two most common solutions for continuing to collect titles and salutations are as follows:

1. Add options like Mx., no title, or gender-neutral salutations
In addition to common titles like "Mr." & "Ms.", include options like Mx., no title, or gender-neutral salutation.

People who select "no title" will be addressed in a gender-neutral way, like "Hello Firstname Lastname" or "Hi Firstname." 

Important 1: Do not offer "divers," "diverse" or "non-binary" as an option, because these are not forms of address, they are gender options. After all, you don't write "Greetings male Alex Ingabire" or "Good day female Alex Ingabire".

Important 2: If a person selects "gender-neutral salutation", do not address the person as "Dear Ms./Mr. Alex Ingabire". This still uses binary forms of address, is not gender-neutral, and does not work for most non-binary people.

2. Add a text input field
This is the most inclusive option, as it allows each person to share exactly how they want to be addressed in an (additional) open text input field. They can enter a preferred salutation or honorific, like "Dear Passenger Firstname Lastname" or “Mx. Firstname.”
Of course, customers can use this to add traditional titles like "Dear Professor" or "Sir". It should still be possible to leave the field blank so that no specific form of address is used. An open text field also gives people the opportunity to choose unfamiliar forms of address, such as "Dear Person".

The real secret: Don't collect or use gendered titles at all
If you don’t collect or use any gendered forms of address, you won’t discriminate against anyone. At first it may feel a bit strange and some people may react initially "But we need that because XYZ...!". But in fact, in almost all situations and contexts, we can get by without a specific form of address. This can reduce complexity in IT systems and reduce the amount of data stored, which is entirely in line with the data frugality and data minimization of GDPR.

Do you need implementing this? Fairlanguage has already worked with several companies and large organizations like the city of Kiel to develop inclusive and legally compliant processes around titles and forms of address.

Don't hesitate to get in touch.

Contact us!

More exciting articles:

Nicht-binäre Anrede online richtig erheben- das solltest du jetzt tun!

Wissen

Am 21.06.2022 hat das Oberlandesgericht (OLG) Frankfurt am Main im Prozess gegen die Deutsche Bahn endgültig entschieden, dass eine verpflichtende Auswahl aus den beiden Anreden „Herr” oder „Frau” nicht-binäre Menschen diskriminiert. Diese unmittelbare Benachteiligung ist laut AGG (Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz) unzulässig. 

Was das wegweisende Urteil in Sachen Anrede für Online-Shops, Websites, Newsletter und andere digitale Angebote bedeutet erfährst du hier.

Hol dir jetzt die gesamten Infos als Webinar Aufzeichnung

Du möchtest alle wichtigen Infos lieber als Video? Kein Problem. Melde dich hier an und wir schicken dir einen Link zur Aufnahme von unserem Webinar.

Worum geht es in dem Urteil?

Eine nicht-binäre trans* Person hat geklagt, da die Deutsche Bahn beim Ticketverkauf online zwingend eine binäre Anrede, also „Herr” oder „Frau“, verlangt. Das Oberlandesgericht (OLG) Frankfurt am Main hat nun entschieden, dass dies nicht-binäre Personen nach dem AGG diskriminiert. Entsprechend wurde die Bahn verpflichtet, es ab dem 01.01.2023 zu unterlassen, nicht-binäre Personen bei der Nutzung von Angeboten des Unternehmens durch die zwingende Auswahl der Anrede „Herr” oder „Frau“ zu diskriminieren.

Ab sofort muss die Bahn gegenüber der klagenden nicht-binären Person unterlassen, diese bei der Ausstellung von Fahrkarten, in Schreiben des Kund*innenservice und in Werbung falsch (also mit männlicher oder weiblicher Anrede) zu adressieren. Dies gilt ebenfalls für gespeicherte personenbezogenen Daten.

Zudem muss die Bahn der klagenden Person eine Entschädigung in Höhe von 1.000 € zahlen.

Was heißt das für deinen Online-Auftritt oder Shop

Grundsätzlich besteht nun Klarheit darüber, dass nicht-binäre Menschen nicht durch die zwingende Auswahl der Anreden „Herr“ oder „Frau” diskriminiert und von der Nutzung ausgeschlossen werden dürfen. Entsprechend ist es nun einfacher dieses Recht einzufordern.

Wenn du Anreden erhebst und verwendest, z. B.

- im Checkout in deinem Shop
- bei der Newsletter-Registrierung
- bei der Profil-Erstellung oder in den Einstellungen
- bei der Ausstellung von Tickets oder Karten
- im Bewerbungsprozess
- in der Kommunikation mit deinen Kund*innen oder Mitarbeitenden
- in der Personalsoftware oder bei der Lohnabrechnung

solltest du dies jetzt überprüfen und sicherstellen, dass dies rechtskonform geschieht und Menschen aller Geschlechter mitgedacht werden.

Wie erfasse ich Anreden rechtlich sicher und inklusiv?

Die zwei häufigsten Lösungswege um Anreden weiterhin zu erheben sind folgende:

1. Erweiterung der Auswahl um „keine geschlechtliche Anrede“

Die bestehende Erfassung der Anreden „Herr“ oder „Frau“ wird erweitert um die Option „keine geschlechtliche Anrede“. Personen, die dies Auswählen, werden  geschlechtsneutral angeschrieben, z. B. mit „Guten Tag Vorname Nachname“ oder „Hallo Vorname“.

Wichtig 1: Bitte nicht „divers“ als Auswahl anbieten, denn dies ist keine Anrede, sondern ein Geschlechtseintrag im Personenstand. Du schreibst ja auch nicht „Guten Tag männlich Alex Ingabire” oder „Guten Tag weiblich Alex Ingabire“.

Wichtig 2: Wenn eine Person „keine geschlechtliche Anrede“ auswählt, schreibt die Person nicht mit „Sehr geehrte/r Frau/Herr Alex Ingabire“ an. Denn dies ist wieder binär und passt für die meisten nicht-binären Personen nicht.

2. Erweiterung der Auswahl um einen Freitext

Die inklusivste Variante, da jede Person selbst entscheiden und eingeben kann, welche Anrede passt. Dies könnten natürlich weiterhin Klassiker wie „Sehr geehrte Frau Professorin“ oder „Herr“ sein. Auch ein Leerlassen, sodass keine geschlechtliche Anrede verwendet wird, sollte möglich sein. Aber es gibt Menschen eben auch die Möglichkeit noch unbekannte Anreden zu wählen wie z. B. „Sehr geehrte Person“.

Der Geheimtrick: Anrede nicht mehr erheben

Wenn keine Anrede erhoben wird und einfach alle neutral angeschrieben werden, wird auch keine Person falsch angeschrieben. Fühlt sich im ersten Moment vielleicht noch etwas komisch an und sorgt für Reaktionen wie „Aber das brauchen wir doch weil XYZ...!”. Tatsächlich kommen wir aber in nahezu allen Situationen und Kontexten auch ohne Anrede aus. Dadurch kann Komplexität in IT-Systemen abgebaut werden und es werden auch weniger Daten gespeichert, was ganz im Sinne der Datensparsamkeit bzw. Datenminimierung der DSGVO ist.

Du brauchst Hilfe bei der Umstellung? Wir haben schon einigen Konzernen und großen Organisationen wie der Stadt Kiel geholfen, künftig Anreden inklusiv und rechtlich konform zu erfassen.

Melde dich gerne bei uns.

Kontaktiere uns!

Weitere spannende Artikel: