About Us

Inclusive communication experts

Our team draws on many years of experience with conscious, anti-racist, and gender-inclusive communication. Our expertise is grounded in research and informed by real-world experience in coaching, organizational development, marketing, and communication.

The Fairlanguage Team

Michael Martens

he/him
Founder and Managing Director

Michael Martens is a co-founder and managing director of Fairlanguage. He advises organizations on all aspects of inclusive communication and the visibility of women and other genders in language. Before Fairlanguage, Michael lead and consulted on digital transformation projects and inspired over 100 different groups in workshops and seminars.

Alexandra Samoleit

she/her
Managing Director

Alexandra studied communications and brings over 13 years of experience in consulting companies and organizations on brand, corporate, and crisis communication. As managing director at Fairlanguage she relies on her extensive strategic skills and her expertise in management and executive coaching.

Freddie* Heithoff

they/them
Inclusive Communication Consultant

Freddie* has been active in education and training for many years, focusing primarily on topics like gender diversity and trans awareness. Additionally, they are currently in the final stages of a Gender and Queer Studies Master's degree at the University of Cologne and are able to bring the latest research into our work. As a non-binary person, Freddie* offers particular insights into the use of gender-inclusive language (or the absence of it) to workshop participants.

Katha Krämer

she/her
Inclusive Communication Consultant

Katha studied literature and gender studies at university, among other things, with an emphasis on language and gender. She worked for several years at a publishing house that focuses on discrimination and has experience in translation, editing, and composition. In workshops, a relaxed atmosphere is important to her, but that doesn't mean avoiding difficult topics. Katha is trans herself and knows from her own experience the many hurdles trans, intersex, and non-binary people face in different contexts. She lives in Berlin and fortunately has a quite decent internet connection.

Powen Shiah

he/him
Inclusive Communication Consultant

Powen combines a passion for technology with a critical understanding of how technology is changing modern society. With this knowledge, he has helped many companies - consulting and operational - meet the challenges of marketing in new cultural and linguistic environments. As a child of Taiwanese immigrants and an American who has been living in Germany for several years, Powen brings multi-layered experience with migration and living as a non-white and queer person in various contexts. He volunteers and politically active, and also tries, with some success, to bake American recipes with German ingredients.

Julia Schwarz

she/her
Inclusive Communication Consultant

Julia is a sociologist and educator who has been working for many years on post-colonialism, anti-racism, gender, and anti-ableism, both in academic and practical contexts. Julia is also a trainer in political education with a focus on empowerment for children and adolescents, as well as adults. She also consults teams on diversity awareness.

What we stand for

We believe that language shapes reality and our behavior. How we communicate influences our social interactions and society: that why it's important to address discriminatory structures in language.

Not being acknowledged in language means you’re out of sight and out of mind. Being invisible, unvalued, and forgotten leads to being left out of the social structures and professional environments.

We are committed to increasing awareness of inclusive language without being prescriptive or dogmatic. We provide opportunities to how to communicate more consciously – to break down barriers to more authentic, inclusive and effective communication.

Where does the name Fairlanguage come from?

When we founded Fairlanguage, we had many different ideas about how to name the company.

In the end, we decided on Fairlanguage because it expressed what we wanted to create: Making language more fair and equitable.

We believe in a just and diverse society in which all people can participate. Inclusive language is how we are doing our part to achieve this goal.

How fair is "fair"?

We know from our work that it is important to reflect and consider different points of view. This also applies to us and to our company name. fair is an adjective in English and German.

In German, it means respecting the rights of others. That is what we want to convey.

In English it has many meanings, including: following the rules, treating everyone equally, favoring no one.
But in relation to hair and skin, it also the meaning of light (in color).

Although somewhat dated, the word "fair" in English is connected to Eurocentric notions of beauty, to racism, and to colorism (favoring of lighter skin colors).

This is not what we want our company name to convey, and we are aware that the word fair has multiple meanings and definitions. In both English and German, it expresses that we stand for fairness in communication.

Our critical engagement with our name also represents for an on-going learning process for us. It's a reminder that how we use language is multifaceted, and that we must continue to question our biases and how we see the world.

Stay up-to-date and learn about inclusive language

Über Uns

Deine Expert*innen für inklusive Kommunikation

Unser Team kennt sich mit den Herausforderungen rund um inklusive, antirassistische und gendergerechte Kommunikation aus und verbindet akademische und praktische Expertise aus Coaching, Prozessbegleitung, Marketing und Kommunikation.

Das Fairlanguage Team

Michael Martens

er/ihm
Gründer / Geschäftsführer

Michael ist Mitgründer von Fairlanguage. Er berät Organisationen rund um die Themen inklusive Kommunikation und Sichtbarkeit von Frauen und weiteren Geschlechtern in Sprache. Vor Fairlanguage hat Michael u. a. in Beratungs- und Leitungspositionen digitale Transformations- Projekte umgesetzt und über 100 verschiedene Gruppen in Workshops begeistert.

Freddie* Heithoff

keine Pronomen
Berater*in für inklusive Kommunikation

Freddie* ist seit vielen Jahren in der Bildungsarbeit tätig und fokussiert sich dabei vor allem auf Themen wie geschlechtliche Vielfalt und trans*Sensibilisierung. Zusätzlich ist Freddie* gerade in den Endzügen des Gender und Queer Studies Master der Universität Köln und bringt neuste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in die Arbeit ein. Als nicht-binärer Mensch gibt Freddie* Einblicke in eigene Erfahrungen mit geschlechtersensibler Sprache (oder der Abwesenheit dieser) weiter.

Julia Schwarz

sie/ihr
Beraterin für inklusive Kommunikation

Julia ist Soziologin und Erziehungswissenschaftlerin und befasst sich seit vielen Jahren insbesondere mit den Themenfeldern Postkolonialität, Rassimuskritik, Gender und Antiableismus, sowohl in wissenschaftlichen als auch praxisbezogenen Kontexten. Julia ist außerdem Trainerin in der politischen Bildungsarbeit mit dem Schwerpunkt Empowerment, sowohl für Kinder und Jugendliche als auch für Erwachsene, und bietet Beratung für Teams zum Thema Diversitätssensibilität an.

Powen Shiah

er/ihm
Berater für inklusive Kommunikation

Powen kombiniert Leidenschaft für Technologie mit einem kritischen Verständnis dafür, wie Technologie die moderne Gesellschaft verändert. Mit diesem Wissen hat er schon viele Unternehmen– beratend und operativ – dabei unterstützt mit ihrem Marketing den Herausforderungen in neuen kulturellen und sprachlichen Umgebungen zu begegnen. Als Kind von Taiwanesischen Einwanderer*innen und selbst als seit mehreren Jahren in Deutschland lebender Amerikaner bringt Powen mehrschichtige Erfahrung mit Migration und dem Leben als nicht-weiße und queere Person in verschiedenen Kontexten mit. Powen ist auch ehrenamtlich und politisch aktiv.

Katha Krämer

sie/ihr
Beraterin für inklusive Kommunikation

Katha hat u. a. Literaturwissenschaften und Gender Studies studiert, mit Schwerpunkt Sprache und Geschlecht. Sie hat mehrere Jahre in einem Verlag mit Schwerpunkt Diskriminierung gearbeitet und Erfahrung mit Übersetzung, Lektorat und Textproduktion. In Workshops ist ihr eine entspannte Atmosphäre wichtig, ohne dabei aber schwierigen Themen aus dem Weg zu gehen. Katha ist selbst trans* und kennt aus eigener Erfahrung viele Hürden, denen trans* / inter* / nicht-binäre Menschen in verschiedenen Kontexten ausgesetzt sind.

Alexandra Samoleit

sie/ihr
Geschäftsführerin

Alexandra ist studierte Kommunikationswissenschaftlerin und verfügt über mehr als 13 Jahre Erfahrung in der Beratung von Unternehmen und Organisationen zu Marken-, Unternehmens- und Krisenkommunikation. Als Geschäftsführerin von Fairlanguage baut sie auf ihre umfassende strategische Kompetenz sowie ihre Expertise in der Personalführung und dem Coaching von Führungskräften.

Wofür wir stehen

Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass Sprache Realität und Handeln prägt. Deshalb ist es wichtig, sich mit diskriminierenden Strukturen in unserer Sprache auseinanderzusetzen.

Wer in der Sprache nicht vorkommt, ist auch nicht im Bewusstsein. Wer sprachlich direkt oder indirekt diskriminiert wird, hat tagtäglich zusätzliche Barrieren zu überwinden und findet bei der Gestaltung unserer Gesellschaft und unserer Arbeitswelt keine oder weniger Berücksichtigung.

Wir sensibilisieren Menschen für inklusive Sprache – ohne Vorschriften, Verbote oder Verurteilungen. Wir begeistern und unterstützen auf dem Weg zu mehr Wertschätzung und Umsicht in der Kommunikation. Wir wollen Barrieren reduzieren, statt neue Hürden zu schaffen.

Woher kommt der Name Fairlanguage?

Im Rahmen unserer Gründung hatten wir viele verschiedene Ideen, welchen Namen unser Unternehmen haben soll.

Am Ende haben wir uns für Fairlanguage entschieden, weil das zum Ausdruck gebracht hat, was wir schaffen wollen: Sprache fairer beziehungsweise gerechter machen.

Wir glauben an eine gerechte und vielfältige Gesellschaft, an der alle Menschen teilhaben können. Inklusive Kommunikation ist unser Beitrag dazu, dieses Ziel zu erreichen.

Wie fair ist „fair“?

Wir wissen aus unserer Arbeit, das es wichtig ist, immer wieder zu reflektieren und zu lernen, dass es in der Regel mehr als eine Perspektive gibt. Das gilt auch für uns und unseren Unternehmensnamen. fair ist sowohl ein englisches und ein deutsches Adjektiv.

Auf Deutsch bedeutet es: die Rechte anderer achtend. Das ist, was wir vermitteln wollen.

Auf Englisch gibt es viele Bedeutungen, unter anderem: den Regeln entsprechend, jeden gleich behandelnd, niemanden bevorzugend.
Aber auch in Bezug auf Haare und Haut: hell.

Wenn auch etwas veraltet, steht das Wort “fair” im Englischen im Kontext von eurozentristischen Schönheitsvorstellungen, Rassismus und Colorismus (der Bevorzugung von hellerer Haut).

Das ist nicht, was wir mit unserem Unternehmensnamen vermitteln wollen. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass das Wort fair mehrere Bedeutungen hat. Sowohl auf Englisch und Deutsch drückt es aus, dass wir für Gerechtigkeit in der Kommunikation stehen.

Unsere kritische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Name steht deshalb für uns auch für einen nie endenden Lernprozess. Er erinnert uns immer wieder daran, dass auch unsere Nutzung von Sprache komplex ist und dass wir unser Weltbild und unserer Vorbehalte immer wieder hinterfragen müssen.

Regelmäßige Updates und Wissen?